The Planning Board meets on the third Monday of each month at 6 pm in the Train Depot, 614 Broad Street. The Submittal deadline is 14 business days before the scheduled meeting.

The Planning Board consists of 7 members comprised of citizens within the corporate limits of the Town of Beaufort and citizens within the Extraterritorial Jurisdiction (ETJ) of the Town of Beaufort. The Carteret County Board of Commissioners appoint two regular members from citizens residing in the ETJ. The remaining in-town members are appointed by the Beaufort Board of Commissioners. Each member will be appointed to serve a three-year term.

## Powers and Duties of the Planning Board

## The planning board may:

- Make studies and recommend to the BOC plans, goals and objectives relating to the growth, development and redevelopment of the Town and the surrounding ETJ planning area.
- Develop and recommend to the BOC policies, ordinances, administrative procedures and other means for carrying out plans in a coordinated and efficient manner.
- Make recommendations to the BOC concerning development proposals and proposed zoning map changes.
- Review all special use permit applications and make recommendations as necessary to the BOC.
- Perform any other appropriate duties as assigned by the BOC.

	Planning Board	
Member	Term Expiration	Term Information
Jeff Vreugdenhil	Mar. 21, 2025	ETJ Member (County)
George Stanziale	Feb. 13, 2026	In-Town Member
Victor Fasolino	Feb. 13, 2026	In-Town Member
Becky Bowler	Feb. 13, 2026	In-Town Member
Clark Patton	Feb. 19, 2027	ETJ Member (County)
Diane Meelheim - Vice-Chair	Jan. 31, 2025	In-Town Member
Ryan Neve - Chair	March 1, 2027	In-Town Member

## **Supporting Documents**

Planning Board Rules and Procedures 202.03 KB

2024 Planning Board Meeting Dates & Submittal Deadlines 58.04 KB

View PDF