Important Updates

Staff is currently working through logistics with Waste Industries regarding the company’s taking over trash and recycling collection for the Town of Beaufort. In an effort to ensure the transition goes as smoothly as possible, it has been decided to wait until April before transferring that service completely to Waste Industries. A firm date will be announced in mid-March. In the meantime, Public Works will continue to collect household waste on Mondays, recycling on Tuesdays and yard and bulk items on Wednesdays. We will continue to seek public input in the coming weeks. Please email any concerns, questions or suggestions to Public Information Officer Jennifer Allen at

Talk Trash” with a representative from Waste Industries will be held 4-6 p.m. Feb. 22, 4-6 p.m. March 8 and 4-6 p.m. March 22 in the Train Depot, 614 Broad St. Citizens are encouraged to come and ask any questions they have about the new trash collection process. If you can't make these informal meetings, you can check out this film made in Hillsborough that shows how easy the carts are to handle and where to place properly for pick up.

Ricks Avenue is closed to through traffic until further notice due to a failed 36" culvert, which has caused a sink hole in the roadway. Crews are currently being scheduled for repairs. Updates will be provided as they become available. Contact Town Hall at 252-728-2141 for more details.


The Planning Board is comprised of seven residents, five of whom are appointed by the Town of Beaufort and live within the Town corporate limits and two of whom are appointed by the Carteret County Board of Commissioners and reside within the town's extraterritorial jurisdiction (ETJ). 

To read about the powers, duties, composition, etc. of the Planning Board please review Section 22 of the Town's Land Development Ordinance.
                                           Planning Board Members 

Member  Appointment Ends  Term Information 
John A. Cartner      Jan. 31, 2020 In-Town member
Jack Gilstrap   Jan. 31, 2019

ETJ member (County appointment)

Jeanette Holland, Chair        Jan. 31, 2018 ETJ member (County appointment)
Dan Kelly Jan. 31, 2019 In-Town member
Ralph Merrill Jan. 31, 2018 In-Town member
Ryan Neve, Vice-Chair   Jan. 31, 2020 In-Town member
Walter Wood    Jan. 31, 2020  In-Town member  

Planning Board Links and Documents are accessible here.

Applications for the Planning Board should be submitted prior to the cut-off date indicated on the 2016 Planning Board Calendar which was revised in April. Applications and necessary supporting materials can be mailed, emailed, or dropped off at Town Hall by the designated submission deadline date. Please call 252-728-2142 for more details.