Important Updates

Staff is currently working through logistics with Waste Industries regarding the company’s taking over trash and recycling collection for the Town of Beaufort. In an effort to ensure the transition goes as smoothly as possible, it has been decided to wait until April before transferring that service completely to Waste Industries. A firm date will be announced in mid-March. In the meantime, Public Works will continue to collect household waste on Mondays, recycling on Tuesdays and yard and bulk items on Wednesdays. We will continue to seek public input in the coming weeks. Please email any concerns, questions or suggestions to Public Information Officer Jennifer Allen at

Talk Trash” with a representative from Waste Industries will be held 4-6 p.m. Feb. 22, 4-6 p.m. March 8 and 4-6 p.m. March 22 in the Train Depot, 614 Broad St. Citizens are encouraged to come and ask any questions they have about the new trash collection process. If you can't make these informal meetings, you can check out this film made in Hillsborough that shows how easy the carts are to handle and where to place properly for pick up.

Ricks Avenue is closed to through traffic until further notice due to a failed 36" culvert, which has caused a sink hole in the roadway. Crews are currently being scheduled for repairs. Updates will be provided as they become available. Contact Town Hall at 252-728-2141 for more details.

The Town of Beaufort operates under the council/manager form of government.

The Town Board consists of five commissioners and the mayor. The mayor serves two-year terms and only casts a vote in the event of a tie while the commissioners are elected for four-year terms.

The Town Board of Commissioners meets at 6 p.m. on the second Monday of each month at the Train Depot, 614 Broad St.  The 2017 regular meeting schedule is available here.

The Board of Commissioners agendas will be posted no later than the Friday afternoon before the meeting and the meeting minutes will be posted once they have been approved by the Board of Commissioners. 

Work sessions are held at 8:30 a.m. the fourth Wednesday of the month in the Train Depot, 614 Broad St. unless otherwise posted.


Mayor Richard L. Stanley 2015-2017
Commissioner Charles McDonald, Mayor Pro-Tem 
Commissioner Ann Carter 2013-2017
Commissioner John Hagle 2015-2019
Commissioner Sharon Harker 2015-2019
Commissioner Marianna Hollinshed 2015-2019